Rare decides against allowing me to play their game

Rare, one of my favorite game developers, apparently decided that anyone with a standard television wasn’t cool enough to play their game. That is just…obnoxious. I understand completely that it would cost them a lot of money to rewrite the entire game in a bigger font. I really do. But I think that whatever the cost, it’s gotta be worth it. I mean, they’re immediately telling a huge percentage of their audience that they won’t be able to read the text in their game. How could that possibly make them money? How is that conceivably a good decision?

I played Dead Rising a while back, and while the whole “Kill zombies with every single thing you pick up” was hilariously awesome, I couldn’t read shit in the game. I had no idea what the game was telling me to do, or where to go, because I couldn’t freaking read the text. I stopped playing it, because I was so lost. That’s not okay. Yes, I badly want to buy an HDTV. But that’s not in the cards right now, as I’m sure is the case for a lot of people, so why would this be a smart move? I don’t know. It’s a shame, too, because I really wanted to play Banjo Kazooie.

One Response

  1. […] original post was here. Text issues aside, the game was only getting so-so reviews, so I’m probably going to rent […]

Leave a Reply

