The Magic of Disney

Ah, it’s nice to be back from winter break. Actually, that’s a lie. I really didn’t want to go back to school. Senioritis has kicked in hard. But it’s okay, one more semester and I’ll be out of here.

Break was pretty busy. I went skiing on Christmas (best time of year to go, the slopes are empty except for us Jews), we went to NYC to see Shrek the Musical (it was amazing!), and then I went to Disneyworld for my best friend’s 21st birthday. Four of us went, we’ve been friends since elementary school, and it was awesome. I went to Disney last February, with two friends from college, and it was fun, but they weren’t as into it as I was. I knew that us four would be a much better team, and they’d also let me plan out the parks the way I wanted to do them, since I consider myself an expert on gaming the system. Allow me to show you what I mean:

I went to Disney with a youth group in December 2003 (or 2004…I don’t remember). It was over my birthday, and one of the staff had worked at Disney for a few years, so he grabbed me a birthday pin to wear from Guest Services. I asked if the pin did anything special, and he said, “I dunno. Maybe you can skip all the lines or something.” And so I tried it out on a ride, and it worked! They let me jump the entire line and hop right on, which was great!

I’ve kept the pin since then, and I brought it back to Disney in February, but my friends refused to let me use it to try and jump the lines, because “It was unfair to everyone else”. Oh well. We still got to do everything, but I never learned whether it actually held magic in it or not. This time around, I gave it to my friend, and we used it on EVERY RIDE. We skipped hours of lines just by asking nicely if we could get to the front because it was her birthday. We got free Fastpasses handed to us, we got special tickets letting us jump the line. It was fantastic. I’m wary to actually post this on the internet, lest our secret be divulged, but oh well. It was totally worth it, and if it never works again, I’ll be okay with that. Besides, Disney now has a special program where you can visit the park for free on your birthday.

My absolute favorite part of Disneyworld, however, is the effort they put into the park to hide the day-to-day stuff that goes on behind-the-scenes. They really try to keep everything “magical”, and I really love that. While it’s fun to see the gears operating the animatronics, it’s even more fun just to relax and enjoy the show. We loved every minute we spent in Disney, and I think I’ve almost convinced my parents to take a family trip there sometime in the next few years. Maybe after the Monsters’ Inc. roller coaster is built.

Leave a Reply

