Comic Con Revisited

I declare my first convention a success! I got to play lots of unpublished games, I met a player of Pirates (the first one to know who I was!), and I met up with a bunch of my friends. It was awesome! Let’s break down the highlights of the weekend:

Friday

Friday the convention opened at 1PM, so we had a half a day. My friend and I were pretty overwhelmed by the whole thing, and we just sort of aimlessly wandered through the convention, taking in the sights and sounds. We met up with a bunch of my industry friends, and I physically met a few people I knew face-to-face for the first time, which was great. We ran into a mob of hundreds of Asian teenagers, staring excitedly up at a glass balcony. Some Japanese guy suddenly walked into that room, the mob went nuts, and we stared blankly at the guy. No idea who he was. Some reporters were nearby reporting on the pandemonium, and we asked them who it was. “I have no idea,” one replied. Journalism at its finest.

The only real thing of note we did on Friday was to see the new Futurama movie, “Into the Wild Green Yonder”. It was hilarious. Enough said about that.

Saturday

Saturday we went to the Gabe and Tycho Q&A panel. They’re funny guys, as I’m sure you’re aware. We also went over to the 38 Studios panel, but as soon as it became clear they weren’t talking about their game, I ditched it for some lunch. We found some of the best games of the show on Saturday, including:

– DC Universe Online – I was not expecting to enjoy this game as much as I did. The game is more action-oriented than any MMO I’ve ever played. You run into battle, you click to shoot at things, you use some super powers. If ever there was an MMO that would translate well to a console, this is it. We actually played the game using a PS3 controller. We were extremely impressed. I also got my favorite swag at the Sony booth, a pen that shines the Bat Signal when you push a button.

Prototype – Our favorite game by far at the convention. Free-roaming in New York City, fighting inspired by parkour (free-running), and controls that flowed extremely well together. I watched my friend Mike play it, and we kept going “WHOA!” every time something cool happened, whether it was running straight up a skyscraper, or picking up a bus and smashing people with it, and then when I got my chance to try it out, we still kept discovering new awesome things about the game. Leap off a building and fly around! Jump up in the air and smash down on a tank. Rip someone’s head off with your sword-arms! We were speechless by the end of the demo. And what made us realize how awesome the game is was when we returned to it on Sunday, and our other friend was trying it out. We then realized we still hadn’t discovered everything. Pick up a bus and start running, and you’ll lower the bus and smash everything in your way. Jump up on a tank and you can hijack it and take control. Pick up a car, toss it at a helicopter and watch as it crashes down onto people. I hope there’s still stuff we haven’t discovered yet, because we definitely want the game when it comes out in June.

    We also tried out some pretty bad games on Saturday, like:

    – Tenchu: Shadow Assassin – Firstly, the game just didn’t look good on the Wii. The controls were very touchy, and while the kill animations were cool (once we slid under a guy, and stabbed him in the crotch), the game itself was too slow and boring. It was like Splinter Cell, minus the fun part.

    – Velvet Assassin – I’ve been hearing that this game is great, so maybe I just didn’t understand the controls, but any game where you’re sneaking around, trying to kill, and then you inject some morphine and suddenly you’re wearing a pretty dress, doesn’t sound like a game I want to play.

    – GTA Chinatown Wars – I was really hoping this game would be good. And it was okay. The driving around the city is cool, but much more arcadey, in that you smash through cars, you spin around easily. They went less for the realism of GTA4, and more for a fun DS experience. I didn’t get to try out any missions, but the game just didn’t pull me.

    – Deadly Creatures – Besides the fact that I’m a squeamish arachnophobe, I couldn’t imagine how a game where you play a spider and scorpion could be good. And from what I watched, I was right. The spider runs around, kills some other spiders, eats some grubs, and then dies. Wow. Thrilling.

      I also got to check out the Up panel, where Pete Docter showed us about 30 minutes worth of clips from the movie. It looks and sounds great, even though it’s not “finished” yet, and it’s definitely got that Pixar charm. Those of you who hated WALL-E, this one is going back to the “typical” Pixar movies, so you should be pretty happy. I didn’t get to go to the Up screening, because they only let in 300 people, and I was number 310 in line. But I didn’t mind so much. At night, we went to the SOE fan party, where we enjoyed delicious food and a Q&A session with the developers. Afterwards, we went to the EA/Mythic party at Dave n’ Busters on 42nd St. They set up Rock Band for us to play, and I’m proud to announce that I saved Paul Barnett after he failed out during a song.

      I’ve got more to talk about, but I’ll continue in another post soon. Enjoy!

      One Response

      1. Was fun to watch you enjoy your first trade show, David. I hope we get to hang out again soon!

      Leave a Reply

