Comic Con, the Conclusion

I promised a continued story from the last post, and I apologize for the delay. Last week was pretty busy. But given that I’ve got a week off of school now, I figure I’ve got some time to update on the rest of the Con.

Sunday

So, the last day of the Con we were tired. But we had to push through a few more panels and make sure we saw everything before we could go home. So we took a deep breath, and waded back into the sea of dorkdom. Here are the highlights:

  • Chuck – The creators of Chuck held a panel to talk about the show and where it’s heading, with a special appearance by Yvonne Strahovski (aka Striker), who plays Sarah on the show. They were nice enough to produce a little trailer that showed the rest of the season, as well as answer a few questions about what to look forward to. However, the panel took a dive when they opened the floor up for questions. About every other person stepped forward to ask Yvonne for an autograph. And three of them had the same exact story about how their father didn’t want any television except Chuck and all he wanted was an autograph from her. Someone even made her the honorary grand marshall of the New York Polish Parade or something like that. I mean, come on people. Ask some good questions. Don’t just drool. That’s rude. It really hit rock bottom when two kids stepped up to the mic to ask a question, and then DIDN’T LEAVE. They just stayed at the mic, commenting on what the panel was saying, asking more questions, etc. I wanted to punch their little faces clean off. Yes, I was bitter that the panel wasn’t as good as it could’ve been. Also, Josh Schwartz (one of the creators) told us that his parents were there. I really wanted to meet them, because who ever introduces themselves to the relatives of a creator of a hit show? I thought that would be cool, but I didn’t get to do it.
  • Prototype – Yeah, I know I already mentioned this. But my other friend didn’t get to play on Saturday, so he checked it out on Sunday, and we watched. And we STILL saw things we hadn’t seen when we played. It was STILL FUCKING FANTASTIC. I need to get my hands on this game.
  • Dollhouse – Joss Whedon held his panel on the then upcoming show Dollhouse. The panel was cool, I really admire his work and I loved seeing him in person, and the questions were much better than the Chuck panel’s were. We also got to see the first few minutes of the pilot episode, so that was pretty cool. Plus my friend was wetting his pants over some dude who was there who is in Dollhouse but played someone on BSG as well. Hilo? Tahmoh? Something like that.
  • Jumpgate Evolution – My bestest friend Katie Postma is the CM for this game, so I had to give it a go. I don’t know anything about the Jumpgate Universe, but the game was really easy to jump into. It’s a space game, you pilot a ship, and shoot other ships. It’s not like EVE, because it’s more of a space shooter. Which is cool. I played Freespace when I was younger, and it was awesome. Plus, I hear the game’s THIS CLOSE to beta, and it supports joysticks, which will make the game so much more enjoyable. I’m excited to play!
  • Champions Online – When we first checked this out on Friday, it didn’t seem very fun. I gave it a second go on Sunday, and it still didn’t seem too exciting. DCUO is much more of an action game, and the MMO aspects of Champions didn’t thrill me. I loved the art style, but the play needs some tweaking before I would give it another try. One good thing: Travel powers. Everyone starts with them, from what I could tell, and you can use them whenever. That’s very nice of them. The translation from a pen-and-paper game to a video game has transitioned well, I just don’t know if it’s the game for me. I guess I’ll have to use this beta key I got from them to see 😛

I think that’s about everything. We left the convention exhausted, but I wouldn’t have traded the experience for anything in the world. I also was heading back to the Convention Center the following weekend (yesterday) for the New York Toy Fair. I’ll post on that in a bit.

Leave a Reply

