A Minor Update and a Question

Well, the question first. This isn’t meant to sound snarky at all, but it’s a very serious question. When a big MMO goes about banning gold farmers, does it ever cross their mind the amount of money they’re making off of the farmers? I was reading an article about how farmers for WoW purchase the game, both expansions, and game time cards. Each time they do that, it costs them about $100. That’s $100 for Blizzard. Do they ever worry about the money they’re losing by banning these people? Or, well, I guess they might not be losing anything, since those people will go out and buy more copies, right? Well, I guess that’s my question answered before I even asked it. Sorry you had to listen to that.

In other news, I don’t have much to share at the moment. There’s some interesting stuff going on, but nothing I can share at the moment. I know, secretive stuff, right? Sort of exciting, having secrets and all. I’ll definitely post stuff up here once I can, but it’s all exciting and new! Be excited for me!

Television Update:
Lost is awesome.
Eli Stone is cancelled.
Better Off Ted is sorta funny.
Scrubs will be sorely missed when it is gone.
Castle is very enjoyable.
Dollhouse is FINALLY awesome. Well, last week’s was. Hopefully the trend will continue.
I gave up on Heroes, and Desperate Housewives. I think it’s very stupid that DH is advertising the rest of its season like “One of the Housewives WILL DIE. Who will it be? You’ll never guess!” No, I would never ever imagine it could be the one woman who didn’t renew her contract. Man, I’ll be completely shocked if it turns out to be her.

You know when I’m getting sarcastic that it’s time to sign off. Till we meet again!

2 Responses

  1. From what I hear, gold farmers don’t actually pay for the game. They steal credit card info & use that. So Blizzard is not only out the $100, they’re out what they pay people to deal with fraud. Plus they’re out the subs of anyone who quit because of the chat spam. Least, that’s what I hear.

  2. Oh, right. That’s why I was asking the question. Now I remember. So, then, I guess the company’s going to be receiving a chargeback anyway for the stolen cards, so there’s no reason why they’d let the farmers stick around.

    The article I was reading, incidentally, was discussing farmers who legitimately purchase the game in order to make money themselves. So what about in those cases? Is Blizzard making millions of dollars off those people who continually repurchase the game after getting banned?

Leave a Reply

