This is why I’ll never be a game designer

This is how smart you should be

This is how smart this idea is.

I saw this article today, and my first thought was “Wow. That is fucking genius. Why hasn’t anyone ever thought of that before?” A collection quest that guarantees you’ll eventually complete it. I guess that was always something I didn’t enjoy in my adventures through Kingdom of Loathing. You are able to collect a daily “bounty” from a number of choices, and each of them are supposed to, on average, take around 40 adventures to complete. So one that asks for 40 of an item means that that area will ALWAYS drop the item each adventure, while one that needs 4 of an item will have a much lower chance of running into that enemy. But what if, as you approach the 40 adventure mark, the chance of finding that monster were to increase? I’m not saying hit 100%, because then you have a hard cap on the number of adventures it can take, and we want the game to still depend on randomness, but why not at least give us a better chance of finding those monsters the longer we spend on it. It’s genius!

I guess I’m sort of shocked that no other game (at least none that I’m aware of) has ever implemented this sort of system for collection quests. It’s brilliant. Collection quests suck, not because they’re boring or anything, but because there’s that element of randomness. When I’m grabbing a bunch of quests, I do all the kill quests first, because I know there’s a set amount I’ll have to do, and the collection quests only if I have to after that, because there’s too much uncertainty involved. Killing 20 boars is simple, collecting 10 boar hooves could take 50 kills. It could take 10 kills. It could take 1000. You just don’t know. But progressive drops? You will eventually get the drops, and you know it. That makes me very happy.

Leave a Reply

