The Great Debate

I have a lot of problems figuring out exactly what I prefer to do when showing a company I disapprove of something they do. On the one hand, I wholly support that idea that you should vote with your wallet. You can scream and shout as much as you’d like in any public venue you can think of, but at the end of the day, it’s your money that they care about. But what happens when you know your bit of cash isn’t going to make a difference in the end?

I’m kinda beating around the bush here, but really I’m talking about the whole Modern Warfare stuff that’s been going on over the past few weeks. I’ve mentioned it before: I don’t approve of their tactics. The whole Fight Against Grenade Spam PSA was not only offensive, but the company offered nothing by way of apology. That bothers me a whole lot. But at the same time, we all know beyond a shadow of a doubt that this will be one of the top-selling games of 2009. Maybe ever. And I know that my measly $60 means nothing to them in this case. So, I have trouble justifying not purchasing the game for myself.

Modern Warfare 2 will be a good game. Again, no one’s doubting that. And yes, I do want to play it, because I wholeheartedly enjoyed the first outing. Am I so bothered by their company’s marketing tactics that I will withhold my purchase? Probably not. But not because I think they deserve the money, mostly because I know they’re not going to notice the hole my non-purchase would leave. And I’m part of the problem by deciding this, I know. But I can’t get myself to decide that boycotting a company is the way to go with this.

Look at the stupid stuff that’s been going on with the MW2 community and the L4D community. All those damn petitions and threats to boycott are some of the dumbest campaigns I’ve ever seen. Listen, folks. Internet petitions mean NOTHING. You need to get over thinking that a million signatures means anything anymore. Just because the Internet gives you the ability to connect to everyone around the world doesn’t make your petition any more viable. All petitions do is cause a bandwagon effect. Everyone’s got this “Me too!” mentality these days that just drives me nuts. How many of those people writing petitions are actually going to refuse to purchase those games when they come out? My guess is ZERO. People just love bitching these days about whatever’s got their panties in a bunch.

As I drift off-topic, my point is that I don’t think in this case holding back is going to accomplish anything. Nor do I feel that writing about it on the Internet will solve anything. I have no solution to this, it’s just something that’s been bothering me lately. Yeah, I’m probably going to buy MW2. But I’m not excited about it anymore.

5 Responses

  1. Yes, you are probably correct in that the Mighty Game Company will not notice, or truthfully care, about whether you purchase the game or not. Unfortunately ambivalence when purchasing is typically read as support for the item (and its creator). I am disgusted by their failed attempt at humor and can not comprehend how the people in charge could not fathom the ramifications.

    There are other reasons to question whether the game deserves hard earned money (http://bit.ly/4bL0yk). Given the approaching holiday season with other deserving games being released soon, I would certainly recommend standing by your initial gut reaction given the fact that they have clearly shown questionable judgement and more importantly, the company has made no real effort to properly address the issue.

  2. I guess it really all comes down to the idea of Company vs Game, and which can more readily sway your personal tastes one way or the other.

  3. I saw this and it made me think of this post. Thought you might enjoy it. That is, of course, if you haven’t seen it already 🙂

  4. Now that we have the whole CO Vibora Bay debate going on I would like to get your insight into this same topic. You have now experienced both sides of the fence so to speak. I am not saying that you will have an answer now, but maybe a different perspective, some insight, etc. I am always interested how peoples experiences shape their future decisions.

    Btw, I am not looking for a response to the CO debate. Leave that to those forums. Just your own personal insight into the overall topic of this blog.

  5. […] company that treats their studios, especially their most successful ones, as disposable. I’ve voiced my displeasure at Infinity Ward before, but as a part of “the industry”, you can’t help but be angry at the treatment of […]

Leave a Reply

