My Favorite Games of 2009

I originally called this “The Best of 2009”, but by no means am I qualified to determine whether games are actually “good” or not. So, these are the games I enjoyed playing the most over this past year. Some might not even have come out in 2009, but because I’m slow, you get to see them all over again.

Batman: Arkham Asylum – Easily my favorite game of the year. It’s funny, thinking back, I hated the demo for this. I played through it and shrugged. Only when my coworkers insisted that I buy it did I give in, and I am so glad that I did. This game remains, to this day, the only game I’ve gone back into to complete 100%. I’m even thinking about going back to get the rest of the achivements, too.

Indigo Prophecy – A very old game, yes, but I played this through very quickly, and loved every minute of it. The “Interactive Movie” genre is one I love, so I can’t wait to see Heavy Rain come out this year.

Bioshock – I almost forgot that I played through this this year. Proof for me that a good story will trump any other aspect of the game. Even though I suck at shooters, I played through this over an entire week and couldn’t put it down until I finished it. I can’t wait for Bioshock 2, only because I’ll actually be able to play the game without already knowing what happens in it.

Beatles Rock Band – The achievement for beating the game within 24 hours of starting? I got that the first night it came out. I’ve never sacrificed sleep for gaming until this one. It’s a love song to the Beatles, and the only single-band game I’d ever buy.

Mario and Luigi: Bowser’s Inside Story – It’s been forever since I played a M&L game, but this one was, without a doubt, the best one ever made. The controls were spot on, the writing was hilarious, and I couldn’t put down my DS for the first time since I had discovered Elite Beat Agents.

So, those are my highlights of 2009. I’ll probably write up something about 2010 soon, to point out some of the games I’m looking forward to. Speaking of which, have you seen the gameplay videos for LEGO Universe? I honestly think it might be the greatest MMO ever made. No joke. I want to play that game right now.

2 Responses

  1. Hey, I know this is waayy off topic and I should have tweeted you this(But I don’t have an account, so.. o-o) but… I’m REALLY sorry to see you leave the CO forums. >< Out of all the devs, YOU were the one we(The community) trusted most, and If giving us that heads up on $Vibora Bay$ cost you your job, then I just wanted to personally say that I'm sorry, and thank you for being such an incredible Community Rep! ^^ Dae- I mean, David Bass, I wish you luck where ever life takes you!

  2. Sorry to see you go. 😦

    I just noticed you had Easting Bees on your blogroll, so I’ll just leave you with a comment I once saw there oh so many years ago:

    “This is a slap in the face to face-slappers everywhere.”

    Godspeed, pilgrim, Godspeed.

Leave a Reply

